Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Winter Comfort Food, Braised Short Ribs with Cauliflower Puree December 12, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:51 am
Tags: , , ,

One of my favorite things to cook in the cold weather, is short ribs.  They are fairly inexpensive, super easy and so amazingly delicious.  I’ve served them to friends and family, all who have been overly impressed for the amount of effort involved.

This time, I procured 3 pounds of beef short ribs from Salt and Time – intended for a dinner for several people, which didn’t happen, so I made them for myself.  I seasoned them with salt and pepper, and then seared them in a dutch oven with a bit of olive oil.

Image

Fairly high heat produces good color, which is important for the flavor.

Image

Once seared, I chopped white onion, garlic and carrots into the pot.  You can add whatever root vegetables you’d like, really.

Image

I added some additional salt and pepper, the poured an entire bottle of Marietta Old Vine Zinfandel into the pot, and then filled the empty bottle half way with water, and added that two.  I like to cook with wine that I’d like to drink, personally.  Finally into the pot, went a fistful of thyme and two bay leaves  from the garden.

Image

I placed the covered pot in a 375 degree oven for 2.5 hours.  It was ready after that amount of time, but could have gone 3 hours with no problem.

The cauliflower is gorgeous right now, and I’ve been buying it at Springdale Farm and mostly roasting it with a little Parmesan.  For this dish, I wanted a puree, so I chopped up some and simmered it in Wateroak Goat Milk until it was mash tender.

Image

Yes it boiled over while I was on the phone, hence the messy pot.  I turned off the flame, and let it sit until closer to dinner time.  When it was almost time to eat, I re-fired it, added some salt, pepper and a disk of compound butter. (this batch of compound butter has thyme, rosemary, fennel fronds, garlic and lemon zest)

Image

You can tell when the ribs are done, because they are fork tender and the bone slips right out when you pick up the meat.

Image

I gave the cauliflower a turn with the immersion blender, spooned some onto a plate, topped with a short rib, and some of the carrots and onions.  It was a perfect hot dinner for a cold wintery night.

Image

 

2 Responses to “Winter Comfort Food, Braised Short Ribs with Cauliflower Puree”

  1. oneoklock Says:

    I have been intimidated, but you’ve inspired me to give these a shot! They look amazing!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers